​​­World Skate are glad to announce The World Skateboarding Support Program (WSSP), which will allow skateboarders coming from under-represented countries to compete in the Olympic Qualification System for Paris 2024. WSSP funnels a series of funding streams, made available by the World Skate and the IOC’s global development initiative Olympic Solidarity (OS), to support opportunities for skateboarders with the greatest need in competing for a chance to qualify to the Olympic Games.

While particular attention will be provided to athletes coming from the NOCs eligible* for Paris 2024 Universality Quota Places (see Olympic Qualification Rules), support will also be provided to promising Skaters coming from countries and continents previously under-represented in the Olympic World Skateboarding Ranking.

The first action of the WSSP will be launched in conjunction with the World Championships 2022 thanks to a grant worth 50,000 USD made available by the Olympic Solidarity through the Youth Athlete Development Program (YAD). While this first action is aimed at covering the travel costs of a select number of athletes, moving ahead into the next season a broader action will be made to facilitate training of Athletes, support staff education, and promote the development of their National Sport System.

As you are reading this article, World Skate is already down to work listing and scrutinizing potential candidates for Sharjah. 

Skaters preferably aged 21 or under and belonging to any of the NOC's below, should contact their Federation/NOC to apply directly on their behalf. Skaters from elsewhere should fill in this form and send their footage to Questo indirizzo email è protetto dagli spambots. È necessario abilitare JavaScript per vederlo. for evaluation by World Skate!

All you have to do is submit your information, including video support (if you’ve none on your Social Media profile -Instagram, Youtube, Facebook)- or via Wetransfer if you prefer- to us at Questo indirizzo email è protetto dagli spambots. È necessario abilitare JavaScript per vederlo..

*The NOCs that are eligible by continent based on this criteria are as follows:  

Africa: Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Congo, Chad, Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Comoros, Cape Verde, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Guinea, Libya, Liberia, Lesotho, Madagascar, Morocco, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Mauritius, Mauritania, Namibia, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sao Tome and Principe, Sudan, Eswatini, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe

Americas: Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Belize, Bolivia, Cayman, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Virgin Islands, British Virgin Islands, Saint Lucia, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Palestine, Qatar, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Timor-Leste, United Arab Emirates, Vietnam and Yemen.

Europe: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Georgia, Iceland, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Moldova, North Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Monaco and  San Marino – Please note, we may have some changes to this list.

Oceania: American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.